The Resurrection Church in Kadashi Sloboda
2-nd Kadashevsky passage 7/4
+7 (495) 953-1319
How to reach the object: M: Tretjakovskaya
The first mentioning of the Resurrection Church refers to 1493. In the literacy, addressed to the sons, the Governor of Moscow, Knyaz Ivan Patrikeev has meticulously outlined his possessions, having pointed out his belongings at that time: the village beyond the river, beyond the meadow, at the Resurrection, where lived his feudal lords and serfs. In 1504 the Grand Knyaz Ivan III speaks about the area as of the Kadashyovo village.
Initially, the church was called the "Church of Resurrection, which is on Mud." This name has been associated with the spring floods of the Moskva River and close proximity of the church to the marshy banks of the. Beginning with 1625 the Patriarchal accountant books contain regular records about the church.
The Resurrection Church in Kadashi Sloboda, according to the modern scientists, has served as the main vertical, a composition dominant and was a "cathedral" church of Zamoskvorechye and was defining the main axis of the urban development of Moscow: from the Bell Tower of Ivan the Great along the Resurrection Church in Kadashi Sloboda up to the palace church of the Ascension in Kolomna.