:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.



The Church of the Intercession of the Mother of God

This wooden church in the trading quarter in the Cossack Sloboda and its churchyard was first mentioned in 1676. In the 1660s-1670s the former wooden church was replaced by a new one. The brick church was built according to the design of the architect A.A. Ton thanks to the parishioners’ money in place of the former (1759) brick temple with the same consecration. This interesting specimen of the transition period from classicism to the Russian eclectic style, is a pillarless, one-dome church, with a faceted light drum on the high quarter and ornaments in four cardinal points.

A comment to the object «The Church of the Intercession of the Mother of God»