The Church of the Transfiguration
Wooden Transfiguration Church was built between 1678 and 1691 years and replaced him ancient church of St. Praskevy Friday. The temple was very small and also in the mid-18th century is very dilapidated. in 1761 it was decided to build a stone church. By 1771 all the works were completed. It was built in the image of the Moscow Church of St. John the Warrior "octagon on the quadrangle." The church was reconstructed several times, originally part of the altar and the temple was built in the Baroque style.
By the early 19th century, the temple began to collapse, and in 1808 honored elchane priest John B. Zhdanov with the blessing of Bishop Dositej embarked on "corrective disrepair." But the parishioners expressed a desire not only to repair, but also the expansion of the church. In 1810, the church was built a chapel in honor of John the Baptist.
New restructuring touched the temple for more than 50 years. In 1866, churchwarden merchant PA Sergeyev was drafted "an increase in the refectory and the bell tower of the building again." In 1871, he built the bell tower, and the church took its final present form. In 1891 the temple suffered a misfortune - Lightning "knocked out" of laying 400 bricks, so she needed urgent repairs, which was produced from 1892 to 1893 years.
This church is also associated with the name of Bishop Tikhon of Voronezh and Eletski. That's St. Tikhon of Zadonsk was the spiritual mentor of. John Zhdanov.
After the revolution, in 1922, the temple church utensils seized, and in 1930 it was closed for a "cultural and educational" purposes. Since 1937, the room was used as a grain warehouse. In 1943, the faithful demanded to return them to the temple, but were refused. In 1960 the church was empty at first, and then was Tyre. In 1971, the Church of the Transfiguration taken under protection as an architectural monument, but restoration work began only in 1983.
In 1997, the church passed to the Russian Orthodox Church and defined the coming of Ascension Cathedral, which allowed to continue the revival of the ancient church