The white-stone Church of the Intercession on the Nerl is situated on a picturesque meadow where the Nerl river runs into the Klyazma river. Sources differ regarding the construction dates of the church. The widespread belief is that Church of the Intercession on the Nerl was built in 1165 by prince Andrew the Pious in memory of his son who died while marking to the Bulgarian Kingdom. The building site was selected by Andrew personally. This church is considered to be the first in Rus dedicated to the celebration of the Protection of the Blessed Virgin.
This memorial is world-famous for its graceful heavenward forms, and the elegance and transparency of its facade, decorated with carved stone. Its builders — the craftsmen of Vladimir — were true poets who created this stone fairy-tale that still enchants us with its heartwarming beauty. The church interior is equally beautiful. It was initially frescoed and richly furnished with precious items.
Excavations have shown that in ancient times, the Church of the Intercession on the Nerl was on three sides encircled by an open gallery, with the steps in the south-western corner leading up to the choir loft and balcony. The initial composition of the building bore a stepped, pyramidal nature. The hill at the foot of the church is a man-made mound that hides the foundation, which itself was raised to the level of the spring floods. The hill's slopes are covered with white stone.
Official Tourism Portal of Vladimirskaya Oblast / vladimirtravel.ru
|Address:||Владимирская обл., Суздальский р-н, с. Боголюбово|