Sign up

Profile photo

* - field required

National tourism portal
ENG
Map of Russia

Sign in


Sign up Forgot password?

Vladimir Oblast , Suzdal

Pokrovsky Convent

Свято-Покровский женский монастырь в Суздале
Официальный туристический портал Владимирской области
Свято-Покровский женский монастырь в Суздале
Официальный туристический портал Владимирской области
Свято-Покровский женский монастырь в Суздале
Официальный туристический портал Владимирской области
Свято-Покровский женский монастырь в Суздале
Официальный туристический портал Владимирской области
Свято-Покровский женский монастырь в Суздале
Официальный туристический портал Владимирской области
Свято-Покровский женский монастырь в Суздале
Официальный туристический портал Владимирской области
Свято-Покровский женский монастырь в Суздале
Официальный туристический портал Владимирской области
Свято-Покровский женский монастырь в Суздале
Официальный туристический портал Владимирской области
Свято-Покровский женский монастырь в Суздале
Официальный туристический портал Владимирской области
Свято-Покровский женский монастырь в Суздале
Официальный туристический портал Владимирской области

The St. Pokrovsky Convent was founded in Suzdal in 1364. According to the legend, the Prince of Suzdal and Nizhny Novgorod Andrei Konstantinovish made a vow, which contributed to the construction of this magnificent architectural ensemble. Like most of Russian monasteries, the St. Pokrovsky Convent was originally built of wood. Nothing had survived from buildings of 14th century. Now, the Pokrovsky Convent is famous for its St. Pokrovsky Cathedral, a belfry, Holy Gates with the Annunciation Gate Church and the Conception Refectory Church.

The Pokrovsky «abode» was the spiritual and corporeal prison for «guilty» women from royal and noble families. The monastery had a large number of serfs, here great sums of money had flocked, as well as lands and other properties, which prominent nuns brought as gifts. The greatest bloom of the St. Pokrovsky Convent was during the stay of Salomonia Saburova (1510 — 1518).

The Pokrovsky Convent is surrounded with a stonewall, related partly to the XVI — XVIII centuries. The tent Tower of the 17-18 centuries, located on the northern part of the St. Pokrovsky convent, has diverse decorations of outer walls, as they were built at different times. The main entrance to the Pokrovsky convent were the Holy Gates, above which raised the Annunciation Church. The Holy Gates appeared thanks to Vasily the III in 1518.

The Annunciation Church is an unusual monument of Suzdal. A large arch is shifted to the east in the structure and there is a staircase that leads up in the adjacent wall. In the center, there is a little gate church with a closed vault. Facades finished with gables and a raised dome tower overlook the three narrow porches with arches.

The St. Pokrovsky Cathedral is the main building of the Convent. The Construction of the main part of the Pokrovsky Cathedral was carried out in 1510-1514. The three-domed church is disposed on four pillars, with three apses on the altar area; the windows are decorated with apses. The walls with pilasters, friezes and arches impress with its simple elegance. Standing over the entire architectural ensemble, the enormous white stone buildings of the Pokrovsky Cathedral set the tone for the whole St. Pokrovsky Convent, and are the pride of architecture and Suzdal spiritual value. In the lower tier of the cathedral (its basement) the tomb of famous recluses is located.

The gallery connects the porch of the Pokrovsky Cathedral with tent belfry of the convent. The bell tower is very interesting and important monument of Russian tent architecture. It is interesting because of its second tier, which was built almost 2 centuries later than the first one, which was related to the early 16th century. The lower tier of the bell tower was designed as the tomb, and the top hosted a tiny little church. The bell tower had six bells — three large and three «rings».

In 1995, the convent got relics of the St. Sophia of Suzdal, whose name is now listed in the Orthodox Menology. There are many legends about her miracles — people pray for her about children. The Relics of Sofia of Suzdal are imperishable, as are the relics of St. Euphemia, the founder of the St. Euthymius monastery.

Site on the map

Address: Vladimir region, Suzdal, Pokrovskaya street, 76


:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.