The preserve includes unique federally protected memorial, architectural, historical and natural monuments connected with the lives of A.S. Griboedov, A.S. Khomyakov, P.S. Nakhimov, S.S. Uvarov, and M.A. Bulgakov.
Central to the preserve is the Khmelita Manor, the patrimonial estate of the Griboedovs since 1680. Alexander Griboedov's childhood and adolescent memories are connected with the Khmelita Manor, as he has spend each summer there in the house of his uncle, A. F. Griboedov. Griboedov's work strongly reflects the life and everyday activities of the Smolensk nobility where the Chatskis, Famusovs and Repetilovs lived together, most of all in his comedy «Woe fr om wit.»
The mid-18th-century palace and garden, built by an unknown architect in the Elizabethan baroque style, is no longer extant in its original appearance. Miraculously, Khmelita was spared the perils of both the Russian Civil War and the Great Patriotic War (WWII). The Manor suffered a tragic accident in 1954. At the time, it housed the local school, the collective farm administration, and a storage area, wh ere some linden bark had been laid out to dry on the floor. At one point, the locals, having had a considerable amount to drink during a holiday celebration, decided to warm themselves up and lit a campfire right inside the manor. The linden bark exploded like gunpowder. The palace burned for an entire week.
In 1960s, Petr Dmitrievich Baranovsky (an architect and restorer) and his assistant, Victor Kulakov, devoted themselves to reviving Khmelita. Over the years, life returned little by little to Khmelita. In the middle of 1990s, it was here that the first and only museum in honor of Griboedov was opened. The museum holds Griboedov readings and festivities that attract literary scholars from all over the world.
Smolenskiy Terem Informational Center for Culture and Tourism of Smolensk / visit-smolensk.ru
|Phone number:||(48131) 3-06-29|
|Address:||Smolenskaya Oblast, Vyazemskiy District, Khmelita|