The monastery in the caves of the chalk mountains in the vicinity of Kholki village was allegedly founded in the 14th century by monks from the Kiev-Pechersk Lavra. The Trinity Temple is decorated under the ground with a ceramic altar. The caves cover 255 square meters and contain corridors as long as 125.8 meters.
The monastery is operating. Prayer services and even religious processions are held underground.
Kholki is associated with one of ancient Russia's heroic events—the Polovtsy Campaign—which is the basis for the chronicle the Lay of Igor's Campaign. According to historians, on the site of modern monastery Duke Igor Svyatoslavovich and his brother Duke Vsevolod met before launching their campaign against the Cumans in 1185.
Economic Development Department of the Belgorod Region / derbo.ru
|Phone number:||+7 (4722) 55-88-40 , 55-01-10|
|Address:||Belogorodskaya Oblast, Chernyansky District, Kholki village|