Prokhorovskoe Field State Militar History Museum Reserve was created to perpetuate the memory of those killed in the defense of the Fatherland in the Battle of the Kursk and is dedicated to the largest tank battle of the Great Patriotic War.
The decree on its creation was signed by the President of the Russian Federation B.N. Yeltsin on April 26, 1995.
1200 tanks and self-propelled guns participated in the Battle of Prokhorovka on July 12, 1943. On the 50th anniversary of the Great Victory, a 59-meter Belfry with a bell weighing 3.5 tons was erected on the Third Battlefield of Russia. Next to it is an exhibition of armored vehicles from the times of the World War 2.
One of the most cozy corners of the Prokhorovka field is the Blindage Cafe. Its look and interior decoration is stylized as a dugout — log walls, tables and chairs are made of natural wood. The Cook and Field Kitchen sculptural composition is installed at the cafe entrance.
In Prokhorovka itself, there's the Prokhorovsky Field Cultural and Historical Center, the library of N.I. Ryzhkov, The Third Battlefield of Russia museum of military glory, a sculptural composition called Tank Battle Near Prokhorovka: Ram, Museum of Armored Vehicles, the Tank Troopers sculptural composition, a tankcade with an exhibition site of armored vehicles and artillery.
Behind the building of the Third Battlefield of Russia museum is a fragment of Soviet and German defensive fortifications, consisting of trenches, communication routes, gun platforms and tank shelters. There's a dugout embedded in the trench system.
There's a Church of the Holy First-Great Apostles Peter and Paul on the territory adjacent to the museum complex. The architectural and sculptural ensemble of the museum complex is in compositional unity with the church and the Prokhorovsky Field cultural and historical center. The church was built for the 50th anniversary of the Great Victory celebration, on people's donations.
There are a small Nikolsky temple, the house of Pricht, the House of Veterans of War and Labor on the church territory, as well as such objects as: The Bell of Unity of the Three Slavic Fraternal Peoples and a monument to Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II.
|Phone number:||84724221699 84724223538|
|Address:||Belgorod Oblast, Prokhorovsky District, Prokhorovka village, Parkovaya Street, 47|