The Starocherkassk Historical and Architectural Museum Reserve was created in 1970 at the initiative Mikhail Sholokhov, the famous Don writer and Nobel Prize winner, to preserve the architecture, history, and culture of the Don Cossacks from the 17th to the early 20th centuries.
The museum is located on lands that have been included in a list of Russian settlements that have valuable architectural ensembles, structures, and ancient cultural layers. The Museum Reserve is included in UNESCO international tourist guides.
More than forty items of domestic, religious, and civil architecture, reflecting the centuries-long history and culture of Don Cossacks, have survived in Starocherkasskaya village. They were included in the reserve area and tourist routes across the village. The main attraction in Starocherkasskaya village, and all of the Don region, is the manor of the Efremov nobility with its numerous architectural artifacts from the 18th-19th centuries. It is the only extant such estate in the southern part of Russia.
The church includes the Don Нost Resurrection Cathedral, the oldest stone church in the Don (1706-1719) and the cathedral bell tower (1725-1730), the only one in the south of Russia made in the tent-shape style. The cathedral is beautiful from the outside, but its interior is even more impressive. Created by the efforts of painters and carvers, its iconostasis is a magnificent piece of decorative art.
Architectural attractions include the Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul, the patron saints of fishermen. This is a striking example of stone church architecture of the 18th century. The famous chieftain Matvei Platov was baptized there. The Church of the Transfiguration (from the middle of the 18th century) also attracts the attention. The Ratnenskoe cemetery is adjacent. The cemetery is a pantheon of the Don, a place of eternal rest for famous representatives of Don Cossack families, including Platov, Orlov, Efremov, Krasnoshchekov, and others. The Don Church, named after the Our Lady of the Don icon, was built in the second half of the 18th century by the Efremov chieftains Currently there are about 70,000 items in the museum-reserve's holdings. These are 26 collections with many rare pieces.
Official Tourism Site of Rostov Oblast / dontourism.ru
|Phone number:||8 (86350) 2 97 49|
|Address:||Rostov Oblast, Aksai District, Starocherkasskaya village, Pochtovaya Street, building 6.|