The history of the construction of Saburovo is connected to the Kamenskie dukes. The village was granted to their family in 1728, after it had been confiscated from the disgraced A. D. Menshcikov. In 1732, the village belonged to the court, and in 1742 it was granted to F. Kamenskiy. His son, the hero of the Seven-Year War and both Russian-Turkish wars, and companion of A. V. Suvorov, Mikhail Fedorovich Kamenskiy was very famous among his contemporaries and earned the title of Field Marshall General. In 1802, he was appointed to the position of Governor General of St. Petersburg and in 1806 to the position of Commander-in-Chief of the Russian military.
The territory of the mansion is 400 by 450 meters, and it is surrounded by four-meter-high brick walls. There are round towers in the eastern and the southern corners. The wall between them has about five ledges and a one-story building with three rooms between them. It protrudes sharply and arrow loops are cut in its outer walls, making it look like a fortress wall.
The ensemble of the Saburovo fortress includes: the defensive wall, four towers, the theater, and the Church of the Archangel Michael.
Tourist Portal of Orel oblast / www.tourism-orel.ru
|Address:||Orlov oblast, Orlovskiy district, the village of Saburovo|