The white-stone legendary Kazan Kremlin has heard almost all the languages of the world during its thousand year history. With numerous museums located on its territory, every day it receives visitors from all over the world. In 2000, this architectural and historical monument was included in the UNESCO List of World Heritage Sites.
From the latter half of the 13th Century to the first half of the 15th Century, the Kremlin was the center of the Kazan principality as part of the Golden Horde, and after its disintegration — the military and administrative center of the Kazan Khanate. After the capture of Kazan in 1552 by the troops of Ivan the Terrible, it became the administrative and military center of the annexed Volga region, since 1708 it was the center of the Kazan province, since 1922 — the administrative center of the Tatar Autonomous Republic, and since 1992 — the state center of the Republic of Tatarstan within the Russian Federation.
Besides the residence of the President of the Republic and administrative buildings, the Kremlin hosts many architectural and cultural attractions, for example, one of the oldest preserved monuments of history and architecture of Kazan — the Annunciation Cathedral and the city's visiting card — the Kul Sharif Mosque, destroyed in 1552 when Kazan was captured by Ivan the Terrible and built anew in 2005 to the 1000th anniversary of the city. The Kremlin has seven museums, including the Museums of Natural History and History of Statehood of Tatarstan, the Museum of Islamic Culture, the first in Russia branch of the St. Petersburg State Hermitage opened in Kazan in 2005, and others. Museums of the Kremlin are always full of visitors, thanks to series of ongoing exhibitions and exciting interactive programs.
The legendary building of the Kremlin is the famous Suyumbike Tower, one of the few «falling» buildings in the world. Erected from red bricks, it immediately catches your eye. The history of the construction of the tower is shrouded in legends. However, the entire thousand-year history of the Kazan Kremlin is associated with mysterious stories. One of them tells of a large underground kingdom under the city, inhabited by the fire-breathing dragon Zilante. Mentions of underground Kazan are also found in the descriptions of the undermining the walls of the Kremlin, made by the troops of Ivan the Terrible during the siege of Kazan.
Sights of the modern Kremlin are now united into «The Kazan Kremlin» State Historical, Architectural and Art Museum and Heritage Site. The total area of the Museum and Heritage Site is about 150 000 square meters, the outer walls perimeter — about 1 800 meters, eight fortress towers, of which three are gate towers. Nowadays guided tours are given here in different languages of the world, permanent exhibitions in museums and exhibition halls are open, and various festivals and celebrations are held regularly.
Official tourist Portal of the Republic of Tatarstan / http://visit-tatarstan.com
|Phone number:||+7 (843) 567-80-73, +7 (843) 567-81-40|
|Address:||Republic of Tatarstan, Kazan, Kazan Kremlin|