Sign up

Profile photo

* - field required

National tourism portal
ENG
Map of Russia

Sign in


Sign up Forgot password?

Tver Oblast , Marino

Znamenskoe-Raek Estate

Усадьба Знаменское-Раёк
Смирнова Любовь
Усадьба Знаменское-Раёк
В. Грибков-Майский
Усадьба Знаменское-Раёк
Смирнова Любовь
Усадьба Знаменское-Раёк
Смирнова Любовь
Усадьба Знаменское-Раёк
Смирнова Любовь
Усадьба Знаменское-Раёк
Смирнова Любовь
Усадьба Знаменское-Раёк
Смирнова Любовь

Znamenskoe-Raek Estate is located in the Torzhok district on the right bank of the Logovezh river, which feeds into the Tvertsa river. The estate was designed and planned as a place of reception and recreation for royal family members on the way fr om St. Petersburg to Moscow. According to legend, the estate was visited by Catherine II. In the dining room there was a place of honor wh ere a portrait of her hung.

Next to the estate there is the Church of the Holy Sign-Painter, built in 1766 at the expense of the General-in-Chief Ivan Glebov. Before the 1917 Revolution, family icons of the Glebovs were kept in the church, including icons of Nikolaos the Miracle Worker and Our Lady of the Sign, as well as several icons painted by Vladimir Borovikovsky.

The estate was built in the second half of the 18th century as per the design and under the supervision of Nikolai Lvov for the senator and general-in-chief Fedor Glebov. K. Butsi, A. Trofimov, British architect V. Irven, and Italian architect F. Rusca helped Lvov. Per Lvov's sketches, glass-tile stoves, parquet floors, furnishings, and crockery were created.

The estate's architectural ensemble includes a main house and a circular double Doric colonnade that connect it with side wings and the front gate. The layout of the estate is closely linked with the surrounding terrain, with an axial structure and pronounced symmetry. In front of the house there is broad closed oval-shaped front yard that is the core of the entire estate.

In front of the house there is a park, continuing the estate's clear axial composition. The farther inward the more the layout is linked with the surrounding landscape.  The main avenue of the park leads to the Logovezh river.  Once upon a time, two pond cascades with baths, pavilions, and arched bridges made of boulders descended to the river.  Unfortunately most of the park buildings have been lost, but the ponds are beautiful as before.

Znamenskoye Raek is open for visits by advance request.

Tourism Portal of the Tver Region / www.welcometver.ru

Site on the map

Address: Tver oblast, Torzhok district, Maryino village


:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.