Ganina Yama is abandoned mine in a few kilometres from Ekaterinburg. In the middle of the XIX century this land was acquired for the purpose of gold mining contractor Gabriel. It is worth to say that gold was never found, but actively mined iron ore up to the XX century. Later, the mine was abandoned, the pit was flooded. The name «Ganina Yama» originated from the names of the contractor — the villagers called Gabriel as Ganya.
At this place were moved and dumped in mine remains of the Tsar and his family, in the night of 16 to 17 July 1918. In 1991, the Archbishop of Melchisedek blessed to install a memorial Cross in stow Ganina Yama on a place of destruction of the remains of the Royal Family. On the first of October 2000, the Most Reverend Vikentiy, the Archbishop of Ekaterinburg and Verkhotursk, laid the first stone in the foundation of the temple in honor of the Holy Royal Martyrs — the main church of the new monastery. In 2003, Archbishop of Ekaterinburg and Vikentiy of Verkhotourye consecrated the last, the seventh church, in the name of the Iov the much-Suffering, situated behind the «open pit», around which every evening the brethren of the monastery does penitential Cross procession.
|Address:||Sverdlovsk Region, Sredneuralsk|