The Novgorod Kremlin, founded by Prince Yaroslav, or the stronghold as it was known in Novgorod, is the oldest surviving Russian kremlin fortress. It was first mentioned in chronicles in 1044.
The Kremlin was the administrative, public, and religious center of Novgorod. This was where the veche was held, the election of the posadnik, the starting place of Alexander Nevsky's troops leaving to fight the Swedes, its walls protecting the Cathedral of St. Sophia and the residence of the Novgorod ruler. The Kremlin was where the chronicles were kept and books copied.
The walls of the Novgorod Kremlin are best viewed when approached along the Volkhov, from the Ilmen Lake. Even when you approach the township, with regard to which the fortification erected in the 10th century was called Novegorod the New City, the red brick towers and walls of the fortress are clearly visible. The Kremlin, beautiful in any weather, appears to be floating above the modern-day development.
A road leading to the bridge joining the Sofiyskaya and Trading Squares, like in days of old, passes through the Kremlin. A prospect over Yaroslav's Enclosure and Antony's Monastery and, in clear weather, over the bell tower of the Yuriev Monastery, opens from the Eastern arch. The 41-meter observation tower, called the Kokuy in the early 19th century, offers a panoramic view of the entire city and the surrounding area. The landscape of the southern suburbs has remained almost unchanged by time. Just like a thousand years ago, the Volkhov starts from the Ilmen Lake; its tributaries flow around numerous islands, overgrown with tall grass. Holmgard, a country of islands as the Norse knew this place.
These days, the Kremlin is a cultural and tourist center. It hosts the major exhibits of the Novgorod Reserve Museum, restoration workshops, a library, philharmonic, an artistic college, artistic and music schools.
Official portal of Krasnaya Izba Tourism Development Center / visitnovgorod.ru
|Address:||Новгородская область, Великий Новгород, Кремль|