The Vitoslavitsy Museum of Wooden Architecture is located in the village of the same name, on the former Semevskiy noble estate, later bought by A. A. Orlova-Chesmenskaya. Of the old manor, a two-story house still remains and a one-story wing, as well as some parts of the manor park.
The museum was established in 1964, when the first exhibit arrived, the Church of Assumption of the Mother of God, dated 1595, from Kuritsko village. Today the collection at Vitoslavlitsy includes the best preserved examples of folk wooden architecture, a total of 34 buildings. The surface area of the museum is 33.4 hectares.
Peasant houses, rural chapels, and churches have been turned into exhibits, and inside they host exhibitions as well. For example, the Dobrovolsky double house contains exhibitions titled «The Arrival of the Badger» and «Wool Milling Craft».
Every year, the Vitoslavlitsy Museum hosts festivities of folklore and crafts, ethnographic programs, Christmas festivities, and the International Festival of Chimes.
Official Portal of the Krasnaya Izba Tourism Promotion Center / visitnovgorod.ru
|Phone number:||(8162) 79-21-50|
|Address:||Novgorodskaya Oblast, Novgorod the Great, Yuryevskoe Shosse|