The museum was founded in 1991 by G.S. Zaitsev - a secondary boarding school teacher of history. Museum funds hold more than 9 thousand storage units, they are divided into collections: collection from archaeological sites "Vary Hadyta", "Yarte-VI», «Yuribey" etc .; collection of arrowheads of IV-XVII centuries (stone, bronze, iron); copper-cast collection of icons of XVIII-XIX centuries; collection of bronze female ornaments of X-XII centuries; jewelry collection of XII-XIV centuries (silver, bronze). The museum also contains several unique items, among them are 10 documents of P.P. Krusenstern (expedition to the shores of the Yamal Peninsula in 1862); Silver medal award "For diligence" presented to Seicha Serotetto (1863) for the salvation of the schooner "Ermak" team (1862); Nenets winter yagushka (fur coat) trimmed with dog fur (XIX century ); household items of the first Russian settlers of the XIX century etc.
Tourist-information center of Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug /welcome2yamal.ru