Saint Seraphim-Diveyevo Monastery is known to all those who are interested in the history and culture of Orthodoxy: the monastery is considered to be the fourth abode of the Holy Mother, under the special protection of the Mother of God. This is why pilgrims from all over the world come to the monastery. The other abodes of the Holy Mother are considered to be the Kiev-Pechersk Lavra (Ukraine), Mount Athos (Greece), and Iberia (Georgia).
Diveevo is mentioned in documents for the first time in 1559. Perhaps the name of the village comes from the name of the Tatar murza Divey. In the second half of the 18th century, Diveevo was a small village with a wooden church. This was the moment when nun Alexandra of the Kiev-Florovsky Monastery had a vision of the Holy Mother, who showed her the location of the future Saint Trinity Monastery.
In 1789, hierodeacon Seraphim of Sarov took the monastery under his special protection. At that time, the Church of the Icon of Our Lady of Kazan, built in 1779, already stood at the site. Seraphim of Sarov became a comforter, mentor, and spiritual assistant for nuns. It is believed that temples in the Diveevo monastery were built according to his «mental plan.» The Trinity Cathedral was built after the death of the reverend, who nevertheless had chosen the plot of land for the church's construction. Services at the Trinity Cathedral began in 1875. Relics of Seraphim of Sarov are kept in this temple.
In the early 20th century, the Transfiguration Church was built in the monastery. The construction ended in 1916. The church was to be consecrated after installing the iconostasis and heating systems, but the Revoluation of 1917 put that on hold. After the Revolution, a garage was arranged in the building, and then a shooting range. Up to the end of the 20th century, there had never been a single service in the Transfiguration Church. Now the cathedral operates and hold the relics of the Three Holy Women of Diveevo — Saint Alexandra, Martha and Helen. In 2012, a cathedral was laid in the monastery in honor of the Annunciation to the Blessed Virgin Mary. According to legend, the construction of the cathedral on the same axis with the Trinity temple and the bell tower was foretold by Seraphim.
Believers come to Diveevo to venerate the relics of Seraphim of Sarov and to walk along the holy groove, the path along which the Mother of God herself walked. Seraphim of Sarov saw this place in a dream.
The Tourist Portal of Nizhny Novgorod Oblast / nnwelcome.ru
|Phone number:||8 (831-34) 4-20-10, паломнический центр 8 (831-34) 4-34-45|
|Address:||Nizhny Novgorod oblast, Diveevo district, Diveevo village|