The Sanaksar Monastery is located on a bend of the Moksha River. From the north and from the west the monastery adjoins pine forests and groves. From the south and the east past Moksha — floodplain meadows and countless lakes, big and small.
The monastery was founded in 1659 and by the early 19th century it had transformed into a large, well equipped site. The monastery's architectural ensemble is one of the few well-preserved baroque style monuments of the second half of the 18th — early 19th century.
The still existing buildings were erected in stages from 1765 to 1820. First, the monastic elder Feodor (Ushakov) headed the construction. He was succeeded by the elder Filaret (Bylinin). The monumental, five-domed cathedral, consecrated in honor of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary became the center of the architectural composition. The cathedral was built with money donated by Catherine the Great and high officials from the capital. The church's facades are decorated with multi-colored rococo paintings.
Above the main entrance to the Sanaksar Monastery stands a gate church built in 1776. It is 52 meters high. In the south-eastern part of the monastery there is the single-dome Vladimirskaya church, built 5 years later.
The most sacred things in the monastery are relics of the Venerable Feodor, Alexander the Confessor and the righteous warrior Feodor (Ushakov). The icons of the Mother of God are also highly revered. Not far from the monastery stands the Venerable Feodor's Spring.
Tourism information portal of the Republic of Mordovia / turizmrm.ru
|Phone number:||+7 (83445) 2-91-70|
|Address:||The Republic of Mordovia, Temnikovsky District, Temnikov|