The group of cliffs is in Tatar Strait, near town of Alexandrovsk-Sakhalinsky. In the distant past, the cliffs and Cape Jonquière were one, but gradually, the sea and wind divided them creating a unique natural monument.
Three Brothers are almost identically shaped sheer cliffs differing only in size — a big one, a medium-sized one and the smallest one. Three stone celebrities are now a part of natural touristic complex “Cape Jonquière” and, in addition to being the symbol of the island’s first capital, pose as one of the best known brands of
Sakhalin Region. Three Brothers are depicted on the emblem of a city district and there are a hotel and a café of the same name in the city.
French seafarer Jean-François de Lapérouse that had visited these parts in 1787 with an expedition called the cape after his friend and patron in the Naval Ministry, Admiral Marquis Clément de Taffanel de la Jonquière.
In the northern part of the shore adjacent to the cape, on the steep rocky slope, you can find remains of ancient fish fauna aged up to 100 million years. Especially remarkable are ammonites — the extinct Cephalopoda mollusks. Only one species of these mollusks, Nautilus Pompilius, survived until present.
The lighthouse on the Cape Jonquière is one of the oldest beacons in the Far East. It was described by Anton Chekhov. In 1906, seamen from Innokentyevskaya squadron that had raised a rebellion in Vladivostok on January 11 were exiled here. The first lighthouse on Sakhalin was built in 1857 and was located on the Cape Hoji near Due settlement (the beacon lighted the way for coal-transporting vessels). However, by 1884, the building dilapidated and sagged and the matter of constructing a new lighthouse was raised. Constructions of a lighthouse on the Cape Jonquière started in June 1895 and finished in 1897 (the lighthouse is currently operating).
The tunnel of the Cape Jonquière was hand-cut in the hard rock ground by convicts in 1880-1883, as the cape was blocking the passage along the island apron. Two groups of the convicts were constructing it breaking through the rock from opposite ends towards each other. However, a miscalculation occurred and the two lines did not meet. To complete the tunnel construction, the authorities had to engage exiled convict EOD officer Karl Landsberg who helped to correct mistakes made in the course of construction works. Nevertheless, the tunnel turned out crooked like a broken line. Gulag prisoners enlarged the tunnel to its present width later.