On Patmos Island in the Katun River -- in a picturesque location near Chemal village -- a copy of an ancient temple has been reconstructed.
A church was first built at this location in 1849. Before then, monks had lived on the island in seclusion. On the initiative of one of them, John, a chapel was built. The chapel was named after the monk's guardian angel, St. John the Evangelist. Ever since, the island has been called Patmos (St. John the Evangelist lived on a Greek island with the same name).
After the revolution, the chapel was burned down but a century and a half later the temple was reconstructed. A convent has also been built nearby on the banks of Katun river and connected to the island with a graceful suspension bridge at a height of 10-15 meters above the river.