The convent was founded in 1675 as a monastery. By 1724 there were no monks left in the monastery and it was closed. By the second half of the 19th century, the monastery had become completely dilapidated. In 1869 Archbishop Anthony proposed to reorganize the monastery into a convent, which happened on January 18, 1871.
In 1925 monks were expelled from the convent, the land was transferred to the state, and the bell tower was destroyed. The Church the Holy Mother of Tikhvin, the main temple in the convent, was badly damaged: crosses and domes were demolished, stone carvings were cut away, square windows were cut through, and the building was divided into three floors. The revival of the convent began only after 1998.