The one of the kind Museum of Wooden Architecture and Peasant Life is located on the high bank of the scenic river Kamenka. The museum is made up of buildings of the XVII to XIX centuries, that were brought here from different parts of the Suzdal region and the Vladimir region.
The idea of the museum appeared in 1960. Also, in 1960’s, V.M. Anisimov, the employee of the restoration workshop, gave life to the theoretical project of the museum. According to the project, an exhibition that will combine main features of ancient architecture of the Vladimir region was to be created on the outskirts of the ancient unique in its cultural and historical significance Suzdal city. The authentic atmosphere of rural life was meant to be the part of exposition. That’s why household utensils and items were also taken to the museum exhibition.
The museum is located on the place of ruined in 1917 St. George and Demetrius Churches, the remarkable monuments of wooden architecture of the XVIII century. The life started on this deserted land plot again. Here, residential buildings that survived in the difficult years, farm buildings, as well as churches and windmills were actively brought. From brought buildings, almost the whole village with all necessary attributes was created. The first building, which was transported to the museum of wooden architecture, was the church of the Transfiguration of the Lord, dating back to the middle of the XVIII century, which was previously located in the village Kozlyatevo of the Kolchuginsky area. The second was the Church of the Resurrection from the village Potakino of the Kameshkovsky area. This peculiar ensemble is common for Suzdal region, when the «winter», warmed, and the «summer» church as well as bell tower were placed together. All construction of churches was carried out without a single nail, with pine timbers, which were harvested here. The main, and sometimes the only, construction tool was an ax. And not only for the forest cutting and processing, but to create the carved details, even the smallest ones.
Nowadays, exhibitions that represent features of life organization in homes of different social classes, before and after the abolition of serfdom in 1861 are still preserved. Therefore, at about the same fundamental structure, houses significantly differ in appearance, and in interior decoration.
Thus, the hut of the peasant of average level of life from the Ilkino village of the Melenkovsky District differs in that the berths are equipped not only on the stove and in the loft, but also on benches next to the spinning wheel. And in the house from the Log village the situation is more economically developed — there is also a bed, and the place of a splinter that lit the house there is a lamp. Instead of spinning wheels, there are looms. In addition, the house from the Log village has a sewing machine, which proves that not just average, and even very above average wealth. Also, the Museum is decorated with beautiful windmills from the village Moshok of Sudogodsky District.
Nowadays, the museum of wooden architecture is the venue of traditional festivals of folk crafts masters. Handicrafts, which local masters are famous for include woodcarving, painting of wooden toys, weaving, as well as creating toys from clay — even today not just exist, but are quite popular. It has become a tradition that the crafts festival is held on the Trinity, in June, but in July, the Museum of Wooden Architecture holds the unique Cucumber holiday.
|Address:||Vladimir region, Suzdal, Pushkarskaya str., 27B|