The palace of the Emir of Bukhara is one of the landmarks of the resort town of Zheleznovodsk. Its bizarre oriental-style forms give the town a special flair. The dome, minaret, balconies decorated with patterns, ceramics, and intricate carving appear to have emerged from the pages of oriental tales. The main entrance to the palace has an elegant stone staircase with several flights of stairs. Sculptures of lions that symbolize the power of the owner and the greeting in Arabic «Peace be upon you, those who enter here» on the arch of the palace create a special atmosphere.
After the defeat of the Emir's army in 1875, the Bukhara Khanate became a vassal of Russia. The Emir lived in his khanate, in the small town of Kermine, but was listed in the Terek Cossack Army, had awards from the Russian emperor and high military ranks. He came to the Caucasus regularly for his health, which is why he wanted to build his own summer residence here. The palace in the Moorish style was designed by architect V. N. Semenov.
In 1910, Seid Khan's son, Tyura-Jan-Mirza-Alim Khan, became the Emir of the Bukhara Khanate. He continued the construction of the palace, which he gave for the use of the tsar's family in 1913 on the occasion of the 300th anniversary of the Romanov dynasty. In 1915, the palace of the Emir of Bukhara was turned into a hospital.
After the Emir lost his power and the Soviet authorities took over in1920, all his property was nationalized. The palace was converted into the resort of the Central Administration for Social Insurance. After the war, the sanatorium was named after Comrade Ernst Thalmann, the deceased leader of the German Communist Party. In 1960, the health resort was renamed Udarnik («Highly efficient worker»), but in the 1970s it once again became a part of the resort named after Thalmann.
The palace had a very sophisticated layout, with many passages, staircases, and corridors. The dome and the minaret with a spiral staircase were crowned with crescents. The prayer space was inside the palace. In its front part, there were richly decorated rooms for audiences, which still have their marvelous ceiling decorations; the huge fireplace in the Art Nouveau style, decorated with tiles, has miraculously survived to the present day, too. In addition to the main building, there is another, which housed the harem. It connected with the palace with a flying wooden bridge.
The palace is a historical and cultural monument on a federal level.
|Address:||2A Lermontov Street, Zheleznovodsk, Stavropol Krai|