The St. Alexander Nevsky Cathedral Church is considered one of the most beautiful buildings in the town; it is listed in the Encyclopedia Britannica as an outstanding monument of architecture.
The construction of the church began in 1896, to the design of a talented architect from Kurgan called Yushkov. The church was open for worship for a relatively short time: it was closed in 1929. At various times, the temple was a museum, the department of mechanization of the department of the Higher Agricultural School of the Communist Party, the clothing warehouse of the 32nd Skying Regiment, and then again a museum... Believers began to plead for the return of the temple in the late 1980s, and they were supported by the Regional Museum, which understood the importance of the Alexander Nevsky Church as a monument of Christian architecture. Eventually the museum moved to another building, and the church was returned to the believers.
Visitors can arrange a tour to learn more about the temple.
|Address:||42 Volodarskogo Street, Kurgan, Kurgan Oblast|