Initially this bay of the Okhotsk Sea was called Volok. In 1912, it was renamed in honor of the eminent Russian hydrographer Admiral Aleksei Ivanovich Nagayev (1704-1781).
Nagayev Bay is narrow and elongated, deeply cut into the land. The hydrographer and surveyor B.V. Davydov noted that the bay «could justly be called the best anchorage around the Okhotsk Sea.»
It is believed that construction of Magadan's administrative center started at this bay. The first prefabricated cottages of the cultural centre of Vostochno-Evenskaya (Nagayevskaya) appeared on the shores of the bay in 1929, later becoming a city.
At that time, ships were unloaded manually using smaller boats. The construction of a commercial seaport began only in 1933.
There is now a first-class seaport in Nagayev Bay. Berths are occupied with diesel electric freight vessels and tankers that deliver hundreds of thousands of tons of cargo. Several ships can be moored at the same time, and navigation continues into the winter.
The picturesque bay attracts many nature lovers. The shores of the bay are steep and there is a narrow sand line at low tide. To the left you can see the peninsula of Staritskiy, where there is the natural monument «Kamenniy Venets» (Stone Crown), a pile of stones on a rocky mountain.
There are several attractions on the shores of the bay: a monument to the Soviet singer and poet Vladimir Vysotsky; a monument to the Pioneers of the Kolyma and Chukotka; a Memorial Stone in memory of soldiers, border guards, and pioneers of the Okhotsk Sea coast; a monumental sculpture of a mammoth called Vremya (Time); and a small marine park with a playground.
|Address:||Magadan Oblast, Magadan, Nagayev Bay|