The monastery is called Dalmatovsky in honor of its founder, Venerable Dalmat Isetsky. His lay name was Dmitry Mokrinskiy, and he descended fr om of one of the Cossacks of Ermak’s militia. At the age of 48, after his wife's death, he retired, left his estate and children, and took monastic vows at the Nevyansk Mshshtesky Epiphany Monastery, but soon chose to live as a hermit in a hut on the bank of the Iset, near a spring. Over time, brethren came to live next to the elder, a cell was built over his dug-out, as well as a chapel and a church in honor of the icon of the Dormition of the Mother of God that Dalmat brought with him there. That was how the history of the Dalmatovsky Monastery began. It is believed to have been founded in 1644.
The wooden monastery on the southern borders of the state suffered from numerous raids: it was burned to the ground by the Tatars and the Bashkirs. That determined the architecture of the monastery: it is a real kremlin-like fortress, which once had a considerable arsenal of cannons and muskets. It took 50 years from the turn of the 18th century to build a 7-meter-tall fortress wall of bricks; the wall has arched niches with fire slits. Now visitors can walk over part of the wall, passing up and down through one of the fortress towers.
Researchers discovered that the monastery buildings were connected to the world outside the walls by a network of underground tunnels, which could be used as a safe shelter during sieges. The monastic citadel survived many sieges: the monastery's own peasants besieged it for nearly six months in 1763 and the rebellion went down in history as the «dubinschina». In 1774, the monastery survived an aggressive attack by the forces of Pugachev; D. N. Mamin-Siberyak's long short story «Okhonya's eyebrows» depicts the events of those days. However, the Holy Dormition Monastery was famous not only for its military resistance: a rich library was collected here, as well as an impressive archive, and there was a carpentry workshop and icon painting studio.
The twentieth century saw the end of the prosperity of the trans-Uralian monastery-fortress: in the 1920s it was converted into an orphanage, then a museum, a theater, and a military school. After the war, the monastery premises were taken over by the Molmashstroy factory: some of the buildings were demolished, and factory facilities were erected amidst the churches. The Cathedral of the Holy Dormition, built in 1720, once the dominant feature of the monastery, suffered most as it was turned into one of the workshops of the plant. As a result of the reconstruction, the temple bears little resemblance to its original appearance.
Now the monastery has been revived. 18 novices live here, and the gatehouse church of St. John the Evangelist has been restored. A liturgy service is held in the church, consecrated in the name of the Mother of God Joy of All Who Sorrow icon, which was built in the 19th century; it is also a shrine wh ere the main relic of the monastery is kept: a reliquary with the hallows of St. Dalmat Isetsky.
|Phone number:||+7 (35252) 3-15-92|
|Address:||194 Sovetskaya Street, 641730, Dalmatovo, Kurgan Oblast|