The Kirillo-Belozersky Museum Reserve is a symbol of the whole of Vologda Oblast and a treasury of Russian culture. It was created on the basis of a monastery of the same name, currently the largest of its kind in Europe. Besides the monastery ensemble, the Kirillo-Belozersky Museum-Reserve includes the Ferapontov Monastery in the village of Ferapontovo and the wooden church of the Prophet Elijah, built in 1775, in the village of Tsypino.
The museum is famous for its old icons, including those fr om the iconostasis of the Dormition Cathedral. All of them are in good condition and can be seen in the main exhibition of the museum, wh ere you can also find a unique collection of ancient Russian paintings, sewing, archeological finds, folk art objects and rare manuscripts. The Kirillo-Belozersky Museum Reserve and its departments are visited by 260,000 people every year.
The Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery a the center of pilgrimage for many famous scribes and sages, as well as home to exiled nobles and the largest religious and cultural center of the north of Russia. The architectural complex of the Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery was formed between the late 14th to the late 16th century. In the Middle Ages, the gifts of land donated by tsars and princes, as well as rich contributions of the boyars and merchants enabled the monastery to become rich and powerful very fast. In 1601, the monastery owned 623 settlements of various sizes and 320 wastelands.
|Phone number:||+7 (81757) 3-14-79|
|Address:||Kirillov, Vologda Oblast|