Sign up

Profile photo

* - field required

National tourism portal
ENG
Map of Russia

Sign in


Sign up Forgot password?

Leningrad Oblast , Тихвин

Tikhvin Assumption Monastery

Тихвинский Богородичный Успенский мужской монастырь
Комитет Ленинградской области по туризму
Тихвинский Богородичный Успенский мужской монастырь
Комитет Ленинградской области по туризму

The Marian Tikhvin Assumption Monastery was founded in 1560 by Ivan the Terrible. A fragment fr om an inscription dedicated to this event still rests in the arch over the holy gates.  Originally the monastery was wooden.

The Assumption Church, the Church of the Intercession, bell tower, private cells, the Church of the Tikhvin icon of the Holy Mother «Krylechko» and a wall with towers have been preserved in the monastery. The Assumption Church was built in 1510-1515 by Grand Duke Vasily Ioannovich. It replaced a wooden church built in 1383 on the occasion of the visitation of the miraculous Theotokos of Tikhvin icon.  According to legend, the image was painted by the apostle-evangelist Luke and miraculously translated from Constantinople, wh ere it was stored, to Lake Ladoga.  This icon is now the main holy item in the monastery.  It shows the Holy Mother wearing a crown. In her left hand, the Infant God is sitting blessing with his right hand and holding a scroll in his left one.

Apart from this miracle-working icon, there is a wonderful copy, called the Opolchennaya (Militia Corps) icon. During the War of 1812, it was given by the Tikhvin Monastery to the Tikhvin militia squad and when the campaign ended it was returned to the monastery. It also accompanied the Tikhvin militia squad during the Crimean War.

In the 1920s the monastery was closed. Part of its premises was used as barracks, and another part was turned into a museum.  The Miraculous Icon was seized by the Nazis during the Great Patriotic War. It was brought to occupied Pskov, then to Riga. And from Riga, it was brought to the United States by John of Riga (Bishop of Riga).

In the 1960s, restoration work was initiated in the monastery.  The monastery was completely restored in 1995. On June 23, 2004, the Theotokos of Tikhvin icon was returned to the monastery.

Committee for Culture of the Leningrad Region. Department for Tourism/ lentravel.ru


Site on the map

Website: www.tihvinskii-monastyr.ru
Phone number: +7 (81367) 51-084
Address: 187555, Leningrad Oblast, Tikhvin town, Tikhvinskaya Street, Building 1


:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.