Nowadays the church is administrative building of the Research Institute of terrestrial magnetism.
Constructed in 1904, in 1932 the extension on larger than the original size after the addition of the nave on the South West side. In 1944/45, the old chapel and the tower suffered minor damage. The annexe was completely destroyed at the moment is completely absent.
The architect of the chapel: Friedrich Heitmann. Architects Annex: Johannes Lauffer and Georg Chevailer.
Hufen and Amalienau was perceived by the developers as an independent part of the city; and if the Evangelical community became in 1901 as a good Church of God Church of Queen Luisa, the Catholic community had received in 1904, at least, the chapel. And for her in terms of building the appropriate place: at the time, as the site lies on Louise Church like area expansion, which Juvenalia is divided into Lasker the Alley and Hammerweg, Catholic site is located on Lasker the Alley, where the alley widens to Starplaza.
The entrance is in the side, which is typical for most churches of Heitmann; the Foundation of the tower becomes the entrance-way; and the tower itself is located asymmetrically in relation to the nave. From the point of view of urban planning, it occupies a superior position: the roof of the tower was visible from afar. The articulation on the outer side of buttresses; they give the chapel a Gothic character.
Upon closer inspection, notice that Heitmann consciously played with Gothic elements: each narrow Gothic window surrounded by a window box, ending with a very flat Lancet arch (almost like a semicircular arch), and at the top ending with a steep pointed roof. It is as Gothic Supplement — installed Fiala.
With its high nave and slender tower of the chapel makes an impression larger than it actually is. She has four normal span, and the length is, together with the apse just 13,80 m, with a width of 6,60 m. However, the total height of the arch at 10,40 m is amazing. This “Gothic” spatial correlation can best be felt in the incision.
The interior gave the impression of a larger size using cunning moves: initially, the window did not reach its present size across the bottom, at the bottom of the wall were closed, it seemed that the light falls from a great height.
Construction began in the first place, thanks to the sense of community of the community. Most of the amount of construction and almost all the furnishings were donated. The architect Heitmann supervised the construction work without pay. This Church construction binds him personally very much.
The damaged Church was typical of the pragmatic approach to recovery in 50 years. And if the building stood in the center of the city, it is likely that it would be demolished. But here in the outskirts are less engaged in elimination of German buildings. The roof of the Church was in order, about the use in the form of the Church could not be and speeches. In the construction with the audience in this part of town needs was not (in nearby Ritchie at the same time, Christ Church was rebuilt under the house of culture). And so were added two floors, so that there is a two-storey administrative building. The tower was temporarily covered with a flat roof. Still preserved in the inner dome was hidden beneath an intermediate ceiling.
|Address:||Kaliningrad, Prospekt Pobedy, 41|