There are no badgers in the Barsukovskaya cave («barsuk» in Russian means «badger»). The name comes fr om its location, near Barsukovo village, on the right bank of the Ukrop river. In 2000, Barsukovskaya Cave became a regionally protected natural monument.
Barsukovskaya is a large cave wh ere bats pass the winter. Five species of these chiropterans, most of which are listed in the Red Book, start coming to the cave for this purpose at the end of August and in September. In spring, the bats leave the cave.
Speleologists have classified the Barsukovskaya Cave as a corridor-labyrinth type. The total length of the cave is 195 meters, and its depth is 19 meters. The underground area includes a 50-meter-long labyrinth around 20 meters in depth. The cave has passages, grottoes, and labyrinths up to 200 meters in length, but they are hard to reach due to the very narrow paths.
Earlier the cave had several entrances and a total length of 3 kilometers. Now there only one entrance. In the course of the Russian Civil War, the cave supposedly was used as a refuge for Red Army and the White Army troops, and later on, deserters and escapees. In 1958, rocky entrances on the Barsukovo side of the caves were blown up in order to get crushed stone, and a large part of the entrances collapsed.
It is thought that the underground passages of the Barsukovskaya Cave descend below the Ukrop river level.
The Barsukovskaya Cave is frequently visited by tourists and speleologists.
Ministry of Economic Development of Novosibirsk Oblast / econom.nso.ru
|Address:||Novosibirsk Oblast, Maslyaninsk region, Barsukovo village (1.5–2 km south-eastward from the village)|