The island-town of Sviyazhsk State Historical, Architectural and Art Museum and Heritage Site is a unique natural landscape monument of Tatarstan. It is located in the water area of three rivers: the Volga, Sviyaga and Schuka. Founded by Ivan the Terrible as a powerful fortress, Sviyazhsk has preserved numerous monuments of ancient Russian architecture, Orthodox culture and history. 37 objects of cultural heritage, of them 19 — of federal importance, 18 — of regional (republican) importance are state-protected.
Sviyazhsk was erected in 1551 in the shortest time and was an outpost of the troops of Ivan the Terrible at the capture of Kazan. The main island fortress was assembled in four weeks from logs fused along the Volga from Uglich, a wooden Trinity church, preserved to this day, was built in twenty-four hours from the same Uglich larch. Guests of the island-town can view unique pieces of cultural and architectural heritage, such as the Cathedral of the Icon of the Mother of God «Joy of All Who Sorrow», authentic frescoes of the 16th Century of the Assumption Cathedral and others.
In the museum of Sviyazhsk history one can see the exhibition «Secrets of the Sviyazhsk land», which presents archaeological finds of the 16th-20th Centuries and unique photographs with views of Sviyazhsk, «Ancient City of Sviyazhsk», «Sviyazhsk: Political repressions and victims of the Gulag», «The Enchanted by the Island». And in an interesting house with columns one can learn the history and see the exhibits devoted to the Civil War of 1917-1922.
And top to it all, a lot of interactive and entertaining programs are taking place on the territory of the «Lazy Torzhok» Historical Reenactment Complex, where one can do archery and arbalest, see a spectacular fight with swords and take a photo in medieval armor. Every year at the end of winter, the Sviyazhskaya Maslenitsa festoval with songs and dances, fun contests, delicious pancakes and traditional burning of a straw puppet s is held on the island-city, and in the autumn the festival of Sviyazhsk ukha (fish soup) is held.
Official tourist Portal of the Republic of Tatarstan / http://visit-tatarstan.com
|Phone number:||8 (987) 003-07-47|
|Address:||Republic of Ttarstan, Zelenodolskiy district, The island-town of Sviyazhsk|