The memorial complex is located on Heroes of the Battle of Kursk Square in Kursk. It begins with an alley that includes the Obelisk of Fame with the eternal flame, the Unknown Soldier Monument and the Common Grave with the plaque where are the names of the Fallen in the Battle of Kursk inscribed. The memorial was built on the territory of the former military cemeteries of the soldiers, heroically fallen in battle or died of their wounds in the military hospitals of Kursk.
The memorial was opened on May 9, 1984. (the architect — M. Teplitsky, the sculptors: V. Dmitriev, V. Bartenev, N. Krivolapov). The Day of the Liberation of Kursk (February 8, 1943) and the Victory Day (May 9, 1945) always involve mass meetings and wreath-laying ceremonies held on the memorial.
The monuments on the both sides of the alley are symbolic. They depict helmets of the participants of the Battle of Kursk, which continued fr om July 5 to August 23, 1943. There are helmets of tank crew members, pilots and infantry. There are also 10 common graves on the memorial wh ere 2900 soldiers and officers of the Red Army buried.
The tragedy of August 12, 2000 that happened in the cold water of the Barents Sea ended the lives of 118 sailors. 12 crew members of the nuclear submarine «Kursk» found eternal rest in the Kursk Land on the Memorial to the Fallen. The memorial sign made by Kursk sculptors was opened here in 2003.
The Tourist Information center of Kursk oblast / www.gokursk.ru
|Address:||Kursk Oblast, Kursk, Karl Marx St., 48|