Svyato-Pokrovsky monastery was founded in 1621 from river Derneyka on the South side of the city's trading quarter.
Today the monastery is a functioning сhurch in the name of the Holy virgin, built in 1902 and is a monument of regional significance. One of the main relics of the convent is the miraculous icon of the Mother of God «Tenderness», which has the power of healing, which receives a large number of pilgrims. In addition to the wonder-working icon in the Church there are the relics of Verkhoturie's St. Cosmas of a Fool worshipped by people with bad legs and joints, in order to receive the grace of healing.
The temple complex includes two dilapidated Church: the Old-Pokrovskaya and St. John the Baptist Church which are unique because of the built in Verkhoturie in the XVIII century on the funds of mine Maxim Pohodyashin.
|Address:||Sverdlovsk region, Verkhoturye, Senyansky, 3|