Sign up

Profile photo

* - field required

National tourism portal
ENG
Map of Russia

Sign in


Sign up Forgot password?

The Republic of Crimea , Krasnokamenka

Kiziltash St. Stefano-Surozhsk Monastery

Кизилташский Свято-Стефано-Сурожский мужской монастырь
Министерство курортов и туризма Республики Крым
Кизилташский Свято-Стефано-Сурожский мужской монастырь
Министерство курортов и туризма Республики Крым
Кизилташский Свято-Стефано-Сурожский мужской монастырь
Министерство курортов и туризма Республики Крым
Кизилташский Свято-Стефано-Сурожский мужской монастырь
Министерство курортов и туризма Республики Крым
Кизилташский Свято-Стефано-Сурожский мужской монастырь
Министерство курортов и туризма Республики Крым
Кизилташский Свято-Стефано-Сурожский мужской монастырь
Министерство курортов и туризма Республики Крым
In 15 km from Sudak towards Feodosiya, in a picturesque place called among travelers «Crimean Switzerland», is located Kiziltash tract. It is surrounded by huge red cliffs, from which comes its name («red rock»). According to the legend therein VIII century. BC was the summer residence of the Archbishop of Sourozh, the veneration of icons of St. defender Stephen Surozhsky.

In honor of the memory of St. Stephan in 1858 the Archbishop of Kherson and Taurus Innocent was founded Kiziltashsky monastery, but the place is revered by Christians long before the opening of the monastery.

In 1858, on the post of abbot of Kiziltashsky cloister was appointed abbot of Parthenius. All contemporaries noted his amazing and diverse abilities, organizational and economic-administrative talent. The famous writer, teacher and traveler Yevgeny Markov wrote in his «Essays of the Crimea» «The energy, enterprise and economic experience of Parthenius made him a kind of leader of the neighboring owners. He was a master in everything: architect, engineer, carpenter, stove-maker, gardener, herdsman. He was asked for advice; he was assigned to the case. «

Unfortunately, abbot clashes with local Tatars, who cut down the forest, and encroaching on the monastery's good. August 21, 1866 Hegumen Parthenius went to Sudak, the next day he went back to the monastery but did not return. The worst assumptions were confirmed: the abbot was gunned down on a forest road by three Tatars, the fourth proved to be accidental witness. The abbot's body together with the horse they burned in a deep gorge. The crime was solved. The verdict of the court-martial for three main was accusation to death sentence and they were hanged in public in Feodosia. At the site of the murder of Abbot was put a monument. By the decision of the Jubilee Bishops» Council in 2000 Hegumen Parthenius, ascetic and Christian martyr, was canonized.

In 1920, during a raid to the monastery it was robbed, all the money was taken and the monastery papers. In 1923 the monastery was closed. There has moved a farm cooperative from Otuzy town, in temples were arranged clubs and the hostel. The domes were demolished out of churches. In the postwar years on the monastery territory was an arsenal of military-industrial complex for the storage of nuclear weapons, supplied the ships and aircraft of the Black Sea Fleet was designed. In 1992, the nuclear stock was taken from Kiziltash but military town still exists.

April 15, 1997 at the meeting of the Holy Synod of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church Lord Lazarus Kiziltashsky represented a report on the opening of a monastery in the name of St. Stephen Surozhsky. For the steward was approved Priest Nikolai Demjanjuk with making him a monk with the name Nikon. November 4, 2015 father Nikon died in a plane crash in the vicinity of the mountain Uzun-Sirt (Koktebel).


:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.