The ox with the bowl of salt on his back is the symbol of Engels city. This sculpture represents the history of Pokrovskaya Sloboda (the original name of Engels city) until 1747. That year was the foundation date of Engels. At that time the city was a transshipment point for delivery of salt from the lake Elton (350 km from Engels).
The sculptor of the monument is Aleksandr Sadovskii. The monument was opened on the 12th of June, 2003.
|Address:||Saratov region, Engels, Telman str.|