The memorial complex was created in the place where the Command Post of the Central Front commanded by Colonel General K. Rokossovsky was located during the Battle of Kursk. The memorial includes a replica of K. Rokossovsky blindage (a trench shelter) with memorial plaques, weapons and military equipment.
The monument «The Military Personnel of the Central Front» lists all the seven armies, including 5 combined armies, 1 tank army and 1 air army. It is situated to the right of the monument to Victorious Soldier. The marble slabs list corps, divisions, brigades and regiments of the Central Front, participated in the summer battles near Kursk in 1943.
The excursion to the blindage attracts visitors of the memorial complex. The blindage is a reconstruction of one of the Central Front Staff blindages. It was restored according to the drawings of Marshal of the engineer troops A. Proshlyakov, the commander of the engineering troops of the Central Front in 1943. A blindage is a small underground shelter made of oak, consisting of several rooms.
The Tourist Information center of Kursk oblast / www.gokursk.ru
|Phone number:||+7 (47151) 4-13-56|
|Address:||Kursk Oblast, Zolotukhinsky District, Svoboda, Sovetskya St., 32|