The Cathedral of the icon of Our Lady of the Sign (The Znamensky Cathedral) is the Orthodox temple founded on the site of the Virgin of the Sign Monastery, built in 1816-1826 to honour the victory in the Patriotic War of 1812.
For a long time, the cathedral served as the honorary residence of the Wonderworking Kursk Root Icon of Our Lady of the Sign. The sacred processions of carrying the Icon from the cathedral to the Root Hermitage happen annually.
Nowadays it is the cathedral of the Kursk and Rylsk Eparchy of the Russian Orthodox Church. The cathedral is among the monuments of architecture of federal significance.
The Tourist Information center of Kursk oblast / www.gokursk.ru
|Phone number:||(4712) 70-21-29|
|Address:||Kursk Oblast, Kursk, Lunacharsky St., 4|