Pilgrimage is one of the oldest forms of traveling. Religious tourism imposes a restriction on the ways of moving, for example, certain routes can only be walked. But it's still the same sightseeing and studying of the Russian culture. For years, the same roads were walked by millions of pilgrims in spiritual search. We picked up the pilgrim shrines which pilgrims visited a hundred years ago and visit today.
They say that you forget all mundane troubles on this holy land. The Valaam Monastery is hidden from worldly worries among the islands of a Karelia archipelago. But every year, travelers from all over the world come here to worship the relics of the Reverends Herman and Sergius, as well as the Valaam icon of the Mother of God. The main difficulty is to get to the monastery. From Priozersk to Valaam, pilgrims can travel either by the meteor ship Hegumen Nazari, tickets for which sell out quickly, or the cargo ship Saint Nicholas, which runs seldom. It is better to know the schedule in advance.
The Korobeinikovo Monastery
The Bogoroditsa-Kazan Korobeinikovo Friary, where they keep a miraculous icon of the Mother of God, is hidden in Altai Krai. The church appeared here in 1904, but in the Soviet times they made a granary out of it. After its restoration, the local friary, apart from religious work, also engages in local history studies, they collect information about the history of the Korobeinikovo parish and local ascetics of the faith.
Calvary on Solovki
People came to Solovki in the 3rd century BC, the monastery was founded here in the 15th century, and in the 20th century, there was a special camp for repressed people, where new «enemies of the people» were tortured in former monastic cells. All this story can be found in the Solovki Reserve Museum, where one should drop by on the way to the church. The main relics of the local monastery were the relics of St. Zosima and Savvaty, who founded the monastery mission here. On Solovki, there are several ancient icons considered to be miraculous.
The Cave Monastery
The Voskresensky Belogorsky Monastery of Voronezh Gubernia was indeed located inside the rocks in 1798. Its first abbot and founder was a woman, Maria Shastryukova, who at the beginning of the 19th century received money for the construction of the cave temple from Tsar Alexander I. During her life alone, the length of the dug caves was 212 meters. Then the monastery was expanded, several temples and a stone belfry were built near the caves, but in Soviet time, the monastery was partially destroyed. In 2013, the parish was officially revived and today pilgrims can walk along the preserved caves of total 800 meters.
Jerusalem in Lipetsk
The town of Zadonsk is called Russian Jerusalem and the spiritual center of our country. Pilgrims from all parts of Russia come here to the «weeping» icon of the Vladimir Mother of God and to the holy relics of Saint Tikhon of Zadonsk. Tikhon had lived and prayed here for about 14 years. After his death, they erected a memorial plate at the place of his burial and built a church. Seventy years later, during the erection of the new church, it was discovered that the body and coffin of the monk didn't decay. The phenomenon was recognized as a miracle, and today the relics can be seen on a pilgrimage in the Vladimir Cathedral.