The St. George's Cathedral was built in 1230-1234 on the site of an ancient cathedral of 1152, founded by Yuri Dolgorukiy. The first cathedral stood for less than a hundred years; according to chronicles, it was destroyed during an earthquake.
The second St. George's Cathedral was adorned with rich stone carving. Stones with elaborately carved relief images of people, animals, birds and plants were laid out to complete whole pictures.
In the mid 1460s, the cathedral suddenly collapsed, but not entirely. The current white-stone masonry shows the line of the collapse, which follows obliquely from the upper northwest corner to the lower southeast. Ivan III, Prince of Moscow, ordered the restoration of the cathedral as soon as possible and entrusted it to the architect and contractor Yermolin. After the restoration, the cathedral became significantly lower but the interior was preserved.
The building preserved the form, given to it by Yermolin, until the 17th century. In the 17th century, a tent-shaped bell tower was added to the temple. In the 18th century, it was replaced with a new one of four tiers, which was later broken after the revolution. In the early 19th century, the warm chapel of the Holy Trinity was expanded; in 1809-1827, they built a warm cathedral in honor of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross. These additional buildings were demolished during the Soviet era.
Official portal of Vladimir Oblast / vladimirtravel.ru
|Address:||Владимирская обл., г. Юрьев-Польский|