Initially the Academic gallery had name of the empress Elizabeth. It was a popular resort place of the times. Construction of the gallery was designed under the leadership of the known architect Samuil Upton. In 1851 construction was completed and this beautiful building accepted the first visitors thus the Elizabeth gallery became popular resort object. There were medical bathtubs, drinking pump rooms and one of the first city hospitals in the gallery. The source which is famous for the curative properties was especially popular. The gallery of Pyatigorsk received the new name in 1925 according to the order of the Soviet government. It became the Academic gallery in honor of the 200 anniversary of Academy of Sciences.
Tourist information centre in Stavropol region/ stavtourism.ru
|Address:||Ставропольский край, город-курорт Пятигорск, начало улицы Кирова|