:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.



"Dolgorukovsky" obelisk in Simferopol

Dioritic obelisk of 18 m was built in 1842 on the project of Streichenberg at the site of the Russian Army Headquaters, which liberated the Crimea in 1771 from Turkish invaders. It stands on a two-level podium, in which plate, made by Vakrushev, are mounted. 

There is also a bas-relief portrait of Prince V.M. Dolgorukov, the army commander, as well as his family coat of arms and dedicatory text. 

Stepped base fenced with metal chain on stone pillars, near which main guns of the 18th century are dug in. 

References: Garmash P.E. Guide to the Crimea. - Simferopol, 1996. Krikun E.V. Architectural landmarks of the Crimea. - Simferopol: Tavria, 1977.


A comment to the object «"Dolgorukovsky" obelisk in Simferopol»