:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.



Shortly after the war with Russia, the Turks, not wanting to come to terms with the loss of the Crimea, landed troops near Alushta on July 22, 1774 and strengthened their positions near the villages Shumy and Demerji. The next day, they were attacked by Russian troops. 

During the battle, 29-year-old Lieutenant Colonel Mikhail Kutuzov, who commanded a battalion, was severely wounded in the head and lost an eye. 

The place near a mountain stream, where the wound was washed by grenadiers, got a memorial sign in 1824. It was reconstructed in 1937, and fountain got its present form in 1956 after the implementation of the project of sculptor Smerchinsky and architect Babitsky. 

References: Garmash P.E. Guide to the Crimea. - Simferopol, 1996. Krikun E.V. Architectural landmarks of the Crimea. - Simferopol: Tavria, 1977.


A comment to the object «Kutuzov fountain»