The Citadel Of The Naryn-Kala"
The Republic of Dagestan, Derbent city
Precious diamond in the world heritage of UNESCO is an architectural ensemble-the citadel of the Naryn - Kala". On the territory of the citadel are the magnificent monuments of architecture from different periods in the development of the city: a cross - domed Church of the IV-V century ad, shapes and design features which coincide with the Christian monument of V in the Italian city of Ravenna; the ruins of the seven Palace complexes Albanian (antique), Sasanian and Arab periods, the reservoir of the XI century, the zindan XII - XIV centuries, the Khan Bani XVII century, the Khan's Palace of the XVIII century, the Khan, the office of the eighteenth century, the nineteenth century guardhouse
Of special interest are also the walls of the citadel, fortress gates and along the southern fortress wall ladder. First from the citadel gate of the North wall are called DZHARCHI-KAPA - gate newsletter. Around them, the Khan's messenger gave orders. The gate was substantially rebuilt in 1811. An opening was made in the correct form of semicircular arches. The upper part of the gate is composed of roughly shaped stones and decorative finishes prongs, each of which consists of solid stone Lancet shape.
The Khan's Palace in the citadel was built in 1768 feudal ruler of the Eastern Caucasus FET-Ali-Khan. Academician P. Butkov, who visited in 1796, the citadel of the Naryn - Kala, wrote that Khan was in the house, which was built in two floors, with stones, at height, with whom Khan commanded the whole city". Khan's office is located above the main gate of the citadel of the Naryn - Kala". Left of the entrance is a small room, dominated by the gate guard. Two-storey building of Khan's office included the ceremonial and office space, as well as foster Khan.
In the second half of the 18th century, the ruler of the city FET - Ali - Khan on the ground floor of the office gave the judgment seat. The Khan's office building, which was destroyed in the 60-ies of XX century was completely renovated according to the old plan.Khan baths in the citadel "Naryn - Kala" are buried in the ground arched-shaped buildings, illuminated by the light through the holes in the domes and vaults. Siena, domes and vaults lined with limestone.The guardhouse, built in 1828, is a rectangular building with an arched gallery from the main facade, facing the sea. Of greatest interest is the primary East facade of the guardhouse. His gallery consists of five semicircular arches supported on square columns.
In the North-Western part of the citadel Naryn-Kala is one of the most interesting monuments of Derbent, the purpose of which long remained a mystery. It is a major underground construction included in historical literature and all the guidebooks as an underground tank for storage of water in the rock. However, archaeological research in recent years has shown that this construction is strictly oriented to the cardinal, is a cross-domed Christian Church 4B. ad Originally the structure was ground and not cut into the rock, but then turned out to be powerful buried cultural deposits. In XVII - XVIII centuries abandoned temple was cleaned, repaired and adapted for water storage.