Yb village is one of the oldest settlements in the Komi Republic.
Yb village is one of the oldest settlements in the Komi Republic. Yb was first mentioned in a document dated 1586, but archaeologists believe that Yb ancient settlement appeared in the 11th century. It is believed that the spiritual origins of the Komi people come from Syktyvdinsky district. In the translation from the Komi, yb means hill. The village, stretching nearly 15 km along Sysola River, actually consists of several small villages.
The history of Yb is inseparably linked with the name of Stephen of Perm, a 14th-century Orthodox educator from Komi-Zyrian who became the first bishop in the region. In olden times there were fourteen Orthodox chapels and churches in the village. Currently the Church of the Ascension, built in 1825-1830, and the convent of St. Seraphim of Sarov operate. There are also five chapels remaining. In total ten springs, all of which are operational, were renovated and consecrated in Yb. The bathing room of St. Michael the Archangel is installed in Vadkeros village. Saint George spring is located in Myrgaib village. St. Theodosius of Chernigov spring (cures eye diseases) is located in Kuliga village. There are also springs of Saint Nicholas the Miracle Worker of Myra in Bereznik village, the spring of the Protecting Veil of the Mother of God in Kargort village, the spring of the twelve apostles by Kungur-shor creek, the spring of the Mother of God in honor of the «Joy of All Who Sorrow» icon in Podgorye village. According to legend, the waters in the spring of the Transfiguration in Volokul village cure skin diseases and the spring of the Holy Great Martyr Paraskeva Pyatnitsa in Chulib cures childhood diseases, eye diseases, and diseases of the genitals.
But for many pilgrims, it is not the only thing for which Yb is well known. It is famous for its natural structures as well. For instance on the high bank of Sysola river, there is a unique natural monument: Jurassic sediment and blue clay bassets. Millions of years ago, ancient fish and reptiles (ichthyosaurs and plesiosaurs) lived here in the waters of the Sysolskoe sea. The natural cross-section of Jurassic deposits in Yb enabled the discovery of numerous belemnitida, as well as teeth and bone fossils of marine reptiles from the Jurassic period. In addition, there is a juniper pond and an old larch tree that has been growing here since 1825 (its girth is already 2.7 meters).
There are many historical and cultural attractions In the ancient village: traditional houses with utensils and tools; the Shoynayagsky burial ground of the 5th-6th centuries; old town of Chudskoe from the 14th century; and a historical museum, located in the local school building erected in 1892.
Tourism Office of the Komi Republic / tur.rkomi.ru