Opening hours: Daily 11.00 - 19.00, days off: Monday, Tuesday.
About the gate
King's gate was, according to General belief, among the most beautiful in the city. The current King's gate took its name from the older gate, which was located in the same place. Originally this place was Koldovskie gate. In 1717 they were demolished during the occurrence of königsberg into Russia during the Seven years ' war, the gates were rebuilt by Russian engineers. This gate was originally called Gumbinnen, because in Gumbinnen (now Gusev) led them walked through the road. In 1811, the gate was renamed the Royal, by the name of the street on which they were (it. Königstrasse). The name of the street is because it followed the Prussian kings, travelling from königsberg castle in military parades in the suburbs Devau.
At the end of the first half of the XIX century in Konigsberg began upgrading the city's fortifications. Then the old gate were demolished and in their place were built new, which is still preserved. The ceremonial laying of the new King's gate was held August 30, 1843 in the presence of king Friedrich-Wilhelm IV, and the construction was completed in 1850.
At the end of the XIX century fortifications, which included the King's gate were obsolete from a military point of view and began to interfere with the development of the city. In 1910, the war Department recognized that these defenses ultimately lost their military importance, and sold them to the city. Later in the twentieth century ramparts adjoining the gate on each side, were razed because they interfere with the increased traffic. Thus, the gates become detached, insular structure. Now they function as a kind of triumphal arch.
The gate was damaged by artillery and bombing during the Second World war. Since 1976 was located at the gate book store No. 6. By the beginning of the restructuring of the bookshop at the gate ceased to exist. They were again abandoned building, for which no one cared, and which were gradually destroyed. Some time the gate was used as a warehouse and a shop. In 1990, the gate was located co-op café.
In 1991 the gate was abandoned. Over the next ten years, this provision has not changed, despite the fact that there were many options for their reconstruction and further use. A turning point in the history of the gate was the celebration of the 750th anniversary of Koenigsberg, which was noted in 2005. For this event the gates were completely restored.
November 10, 2005 in the wall of the Royal gate was imbedded a message to posterity — a glass case with the book "the City of my dreams", which Kaliningraders future learn, it seemed their time to Kaliningrad, 2005. 10 February 2005, the gates were donated to the Museum of the World ocean. Today in goal is historical and cultural center "Grand Embassy" dedicated to the famous diplomatic mission of Peter I. the Exhibition acquaint visitors with the history of Russian and European diplomacy. Of particular interest is the "Amber cabin", which collected samples of solar stone from all over the world.
Construction description from the Baldur Kester (in red Alexei Shabunina):
The gate originally had only one portal with the width of driveway 4.5 m, through which should have been held jointly and pedestrian traffic. Only in 1875 the Northern casemate protection was rebuilt into a pedestrian walkway; and later the southern casemate served as a passage for pedestrians. What was the situation on the outside toward the moat, you can see the section Rossgarten gate. At this point the gates were exactly the same. And only with the increase of car traffic in the 20th in. on both sides of the gate were demolished shafts. So were looking for a place to put on all four sides of the gate roadway. These roads were also used by trams. In this free position shall be submitted to the observer the King's gate today.
Its walls of solid red brick laid in accordance with military requirements. So, for example, the walls on both sides of the middle of the portal have a thickness of 2 m, and groin in his vein was as thick as 1.25 meters. In addition to this body was also made earthen mound, which in its lateral profile was followed by the earthen ramparts, that is, continued ground shaft, without interruption, over the gate and here was the height of 2 meters.
In accordance with the romantic spirit of time to this design, designed exclusively to withstand the fire of artillery, was added to eye-pleasing detail: on the side facing the city (called the inner side), was created just the same, display the facade, the construction of which is substantially in the middle towered above the ramparts and which — can be reached only by earthen ramparts, and it can be used at best as a viewing platform — otherwise there has been no military use. This display side is divided into three parts: the middle an arched passage stresses the “double-Decker” design. It is divided into three niches with blind end in the form of arches. Mentioned on the drawing, probably created in 1843, these narrow niches filled with decorative Windows, but beneath them already installed bracket.
Available these consoles are three statues, the middle of king Friedrich, on the right side of the Duke Albrecht, and on the left is the king Ottokar II. Bohemian. They are made of yellow Sandstone and not just stand freely as usual was made on consoles, and firmly connected with its back side with the wall (probably for security reasons). So the statues almost without damage survived the war. Their heads were later repulsed. Among the statues are visible — printed on the in — depth primer three coat of arms of the rulers. The surface of the walls fail (“storey” on the sides, and “two storey” in the middle) by a crown of teeth, which stick out the top of the octagonal towers which are slightly higher.
This kind of design is usually characteristic of the new Gothic or romantic Gothic. The last expression alludes to the fact that it fits in a romantic understanding of the mid-19th century. However, the true spirit of the Gothic of the middle ages is simply missing. But the facade shows the Gothic elongation of form he is likely quite balanced in the classical sense, is divided into vertical and horizontal elements, and also of three Lancet arches and decorative niches three small teeth no other Gothic decorative forms. Even flat, just slightly large pointed arches really no Gothic elements. The direction of these arches leads to the side and not upwards (as it is with pure Gothic decorative niches).
After the liberation from the defensive side of the shafts gate, which originally had only two specific parties (the city and the outer part), suddenly found themselves surrounded on all sides by streets. The side of the gate, which adjoined the ramparts, were now to look good. These facades were covered with decorative Gothic arches. Now almost square in shape body building, previously tied in a long line of shafts was possibly a powerful way to rise above in the middle of the streets and so bought four small side towers, which began to look like the side of the tower higher block towers over the middle gate. The building has evolved from embellished only on the front sides of the gates in building an independent body, which stood in the middle of the intersection as a large statue.