Kaliningrad, Bagration str., 137
The Brandenburg gate was built in königsberg in 1657 in the South-Western section of the First rampart fortifications at the junction with the road leading to the castle of Brandenburg (now the village ushakovo). Due to the lack of funds and proper project organizers were limited to the erection of wooden gates, placed under the roof and resting against the earth wall. For reliable cover ahead dug a moat and filled it with water.
In a hundred years by order of the Prussian king Frederick II dilapidated structure was broken, and in its place was constructed a massive brick building with two spacious driveways with Lancet end. New strong gate completely blocked the road to the South (now Suvorov street) and served as a reliable protection of the city. Thick walls, well sheltered a small garrison of guards that were located in the inner casemates. It also had a service, utility, storage rooms and lifts. During restoration work in 1843 the gate was significantly rebuilt (almost rebuilt on the same place) and decorated with gabled decorative pediments, cruciform Sandstone colors, stylized leaves on the tops, coats of arms and medallions. On the gate installed sculptural portraits of field Marshal von Boyen (1771-1848), a war Minister, a member of reforms for the Prussian army; on the right, Lieutenant-General Ernst von Aster (1778-1855), chief of the engineering corps, one of the authors of the Second rampart fortifications.
Construction description from the Baldur Kester (translated by Alex Shabunina):
Brandenburg gate (named for lying in the South-West of Konigsberg settlement, to which leads the road to Berlin) with the two passages in terms similar to that just described Friedland gate. This is the only gate of the city of Konigsberg, through which still passes traffic through them even going to the tram tracks. From encircling the tower, which is in the picture at the top should be stayed before the gates, there's nothing left. Both sides of the casemate, originally pastovymi booths, were — as in the King's gate and later converted under the gate for pedestrians. These passages at the end of the war, still existed. But now both closed up by masonry.
From every gate the Brandenburg it is closest to the true Gothic character. Two steep pediment decorated Gothic fialli, give for the most part elongated in the length of the front vertical accents. And if small turrets always constitute the highest elements, in this case Fiala's issued over the turrets. Under the arch segment below, which shows the magnitude of the arch, you can see the design. Outstanding on two feet, much higher Gothic arch clearly shows us that is an architectural filling.
On the side directed to the city, in both Gables are still preserved two portrait medallions. The first presented field Marshal von Boyen, the second General von Aster. Theseworks performed by Wilhelm Ludwig Sturmer.
The Brandenburg gate is the only surviving gate of königsberg, still performing its transport function. The structure of restored and protected by the state as an architectural monument, adorning the street Bagration in Kaliningrad.